EU finally adopts 11th package of Russia sanctions
Photo via EPA

The European Union has officially adopted an eleventh package of economic and individual restrictive measures against Russia, the Council of the EU said in a statement on Friday.

This package will ensure that EU sanctions against Russia are even better enforced and implemented, based on the lessons learned from implementation over the past year, the EU Council stressed.

Only in those cases where "cooperation does not yield the intended results", the EU will take "appropriate individual measures addressing the involvement of third-country operators in facilitating circumvention".

In order to further minimise the risk of sanctions’ circumvention, the EU also prohibits the transit through Russia of more goods and technology which may contribute to Russia’s military and technological enhancement, including goods and technology suited for use in aviation or space industry and jet fuel and fuel additives.

The EU Council added additional 87 entities to the list of entities directly supporting Russia in its war of aggression against Ukraine, including four drone manufacturers from Iran; companies used to circumvent sanctions; and several Russian manufacturers of electronic components for the Russian army and industry.

Furthermore, the EU expands the list of restricted items for Russia to include: electronic components, semiconductor materials, manufacturing and testing equipment for electronic integrated circuits and printed circuit boards, precursors to energetic materials and precursors to chemical weapons, optical components, navigational instruments, metals used in the defence sector and marine equipment.

The ban includes five Russian additional media outlets: RT Balkan, Oriental Review, Tsargrad, New Eastern Outlook and Katehon, which are under the permanent direct or indirect control of Russia’s leadership and have been used by latter for its continuous and concerted propaganda actions.

In addition, the EU extended the prohibition to transport goods into the EU by road to trailers and semi-trailers registered in Russia, including when hauled by trucks registered outside of Russia.

Access to EU ports and locks will also be prohibited to any vessels that engage in ship-to-ship transfers, if the competent authorities have reasonable cause to suspect that they are abetting Russia in circumventing the oil embargo or price cap.

The temporary derogation granted to Germany and Poland for the supply of crude oil from Russia through the northern section of the Druzhba oil pipeline will end. However, the oil which originates in Kazakhstan or another third country will be able to continue to transit through Russia and be imported into the EU via the Druzhba oil pipeline.

In addition to economic sanctions, the EU Council decided to impose individual sanctions against a number of Russian individuals and entities, with the list to be published later.

The previous, tenth package of EU sanctions against Russia was adopted on 25 February.