Ukraine implements EU-requested grain export licensing for five countries
Mykola Solskyi (photo - Ministry of Agrarian Policy)

At the request of the European Commission, Ukraine changed the rules of grain export. The new procedure for exporting four types of products to five EU member states was approved by the Cabinet of Ministers on Tuesday, reported the Ministry of Agrarian Policy.

Stay updated with the latest news by following us on X (Twitter)

It stipulates that four crops: corn, rapeseed, sunflower, wheat, which are exported to Poland, Hungary, Slovakia, Romania and Bulgaria, must receive a license from the Ministry of Economy with the approval of the Ministry of Agrarian Policy.

After the European Commission canceled the embargo on Ukrainian grain on Friday, according to the new conditions, Ukraine developed and presented an action plan for export control within 72 hours.

"We agree with the European Commission and the importing countries on the necessary list and volume of agricultural products from four crops, they in turn determine whether they are ready to accept these crops, when and in what quantities. Only after that do we issue permits to our enterprises to export one or another products. That is, Ukraine controls its exports and coordinates them with the receiving countries," explained Minister of Agrarian Policy and Food Mykola Solskyi during an online speech at a meeting of the agricultural committee of the European Parliament.

The Ukrainian minister expressed hope that such a scheme of work will satisfy all parties. And even the three countries that are currently opposing Ukrainian agricultural exports will join this plan.

"Because we all have one goal – victory in this terrible war. And for this there must be mutual understanding and mutual support between us," Solskyi emphasized.

In May 2023, the five countries of the European Union obtained from the European Commission a decision to introduce a temporary embargo on the import of four agricultural crops from Ukraine under the condition of free transit.

On September 15, the European Commission canceled the embargo on Ukrainian grain. However, three countries – Poland, Hungary and Slovakia – refused to comply with this decision.

Ukraine called the grain embargo unlawful and filed a lawsuit with the World Trade Organization against Poland, Slovakia, and Hungary.